Notes on AI and leadership

Is AIHR worth it? AIHR compared with free and paid AI courses for HR

Is AIHR worth it? Its AI for HR certificate takes about 33 hours, costs EUR 975 and is eligible for 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits. Here is when it pays off, and the cheaper and free alternatives, checked October 2026.

The short answer

AIHR is worth it if you want a structured, credit-bearing programme and your employer pays, or you will use more than one of its 17 certificate programmes. Its Artificial Intelligence for HR certificate takes about 33 hours, ends with a required capstone and is eligible for 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits. One programme costs EUR 975; all 17 cost EUR 1,625 a year. It is more than you need if you want to start using AI at work this week. Cheaper routes exist: HRCI Pro: AI for HR costs USD 399 and gives 12 HRCI credits, IBM’s Generative AI for HR on Coursera comes with Coursera Plus at USD 59 a month, and my free 60-minute AI Course for HR gets a team practising, without recertification credits.

See the comparison table
  • AI certificate About 33 hours, capstone, EUR 975.
  • Credits 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits.
  • Cheaper routes HRCI Pro USD 399, Coursera Plus, a free first course.

I run one of the alternatives, a free AI course for HR, so I am not a neutral reviewer. Every AIHR price and credit figure here comes from AIHR’s own pages, checked on 19 October 2026, and links to the source.

What does AIHR cost in 2026?

AIHR sells three ways in. One certificate programme costs EUR 975 and gives 12 months of access. Full Academy Access gives all 17 certificate programmes, 85+ mini courses and templates for EUR 1,625 a year, or from EUR 165 a month with a 12-month minimum. Teams start from EUR 2,645 for two users. A single programme has a 30-day money-back guarantee; annual Full Academy Access has 60 days.

The maths is simple. If you will take two or more programmes within a year, Full Academy Access costs less than buying them one by one. If you only want the AI certificate, the single programme is the cheaper route.

What do you get in the AIHR AI for HR certificate?

The Artificial Intelligence for HR certificate is a self-paced online programme of about 33 hours. AIHR suggests 3 hours a week over 11 weeks. It has 17 modules and 20 hands-on projects, covering prompt design, generative AI in HR work, building AI agents, AI strategy and data privacy, and you must pass a capstone to get the certificate. The programme is eligible for 28 SHRM PDCs, 33 HRCI credits and 35 HRPA PDCs. On its course page AIHR shows a rating of 4.7 from 427 reviews and 1,218 alumni. Standalone enrolment opens on 27 October 2026.

Are AIHR certificates recognized?

AIHR is an approved provider for SHRM and HRCI recertification, which is why its programmes carry credits for SHRM-CP, SHRM-SCP and HRCI certifications. It also lists HRPA and CPHR. It is not a university and does not award degrees. AIHR itself writes that there is no single global accreditation standard in HR education. Whether an employer values the certificate depends on the employer; AIHR does not publish data on that. On Trustpilot, AIHR has 694 reviews with a score of about 4.5 to 4.7.

AIHR vs the alternatives

These are the AI courses for HR that come up most when people compare with AIHR. They differ more in purpose than in quality: some give recertification credits, some give depth, some give you a first working routine.

CoursePriceTimeCreditsHands-onBest for
Artificial Intelligence for HR CertificateAIHREUR 975, or included in Full Academy Access (EUR 1,625 a year)33 hours, self-paced28 SHRM PDCs, 33 HRCI credits, 35 HRPA PDCs20 hands-on projects and a required capstoneHR professionals who want a structured credential and recertification credits
AI+HI Specialty CredentialSHRMAbout USD 2,100 to 2,200 for non-membersAbout 6 weeks, live labs plus self-paced modulesSHRM PDCs (number not stated on the SHRM store page)Instructor-led labs and a capstoneSHRM-certified HR professionals who want cohort-based learning
HRCI Pro: AI for HRHRCIUSD 399About 12 hours, self-paced12 HRCI credits; eligible for SHRM recertificationThree eLearning courses; assessment not statedHRCI-certified professionals who need credits at a lower cost
Generative AI for HR Professionals SpecializationIBM on CourseraCoursera Plus: USD 59 a month or USD 399 a yearAbout 29 hours, 3 coursesNo SHRM or HRCI credits listedHands-on labs and an applied projectStructured learning at a subscription price
AI Applications in People ManagementWharton on CourseraCoursera Plus or course purchaseAbout 11 hoursNo SHRM or HRCI credits listedAssignments; mostly conceptualUnderstanding AI in people decisions, analytics and bias
Generative AI in HRLinkedIn LearningIncluded in LinkedIn Premium Career, USD 39.99 a month46 minutesContinuing education units mentioned, no numbers statedVideo courseA quick overview if you already have Premium
Free AI Course for HRJohannes Sundlo (mine)Free, including the certificate of completion60 minutes, self-pacedNone; the certificate is not accreditedWrite a job-ad prompt, set up a screening summary, build a prompt library, draft a guardrail checklistA first practical step, alone or as a shared team intro

Sorted from highest to lowest typical cost, AIHR first because it is the subject of this page. Prices and credits checked on each provider’s own page on 19 October 2026. AIHR shows prices in your local currency; EUR is what it shows in Sweden, and its US price for one programme is USD 1,125. SHRM shows two different non-member prices on its own site, so I give the range.

Try the free AI course for HR60 minutes. A good way to find out what you need before you pay for more.

When is AIHR worth it?

  • You need recertification credits. 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits from one programme is a lot of your recertification in one go.
  • Your employer pays. At EUR 975 the AI certificate is a normal development budget item. Ask for Full Academy Access if your team will use more than one programme.
  • You want structure and a deadline. A capstone and a set weekly pace help many people finish.
  • You want breadth beyond AI. The 17 programmes also cover people analytics, HR business partnering and other HR fields.

When should you choose something else?

  • You want to start this week. Begin with a short practical course and real tasks; take the credential later if you still need it.
  • You only need credits. HRCI Pro: AI for HR gives 12 HRCI credits for USD 399.
  • You already pay for Coursera Plus or LinkedIn Premium. IBM, Wharton and LinkedIn Learning courses are then included.
  • You want to learn as a team. A shared short course and a workshop on your own work tends to change more than individual certificates.

How I compared them

I compared each course on price, time, recertification credits, how much hands-on work it includes and who it suits. Every price and credit figure comes from the provider’s own page, checked on 19 October 2026. Where a provider gives two different figures, I say so. I run one of the alternatives, the free AI Course for HR, and I have marked it in the table.

Sources: AIHR pricing, AIHR AI for HR certificate, Is AIHR accredited?, AIHR on Trustpilot, HRCI Pro: AI for HR, SHRM AI+HI, IBM on Coursera, Coursera Plus, LinkedIn Premium Career.

Common questions

Is AIHR worth it?

Yes, if you want a structured credential with recertification credits and your employer pays, or you will use several of its 17 programmes. The AI for HR certificate takes about 33 hours, costs EUR 975 and is eligible for 28 SHRM PDCs and 33 HRCI credits. If you want to start using AI at work this week, a short practical course is a better first step.

Is AIHR legit and accredited?

AIHR is an approved recertification provider for SHRM and HRCI, and also lists HRPA and CPHR. It is not a university and does not award degrees, and AIHR itself notes there is no single global accreditation standard in HR education. On Trustpilot it has 694 reviews with a score of about 4.5 to 4.7.

How much does the AIHR AI for HR certificate cost?

EUR 975 as a single programme, shown as USD 1,125 in the US, with 12 months of access and a 30-day money-back guarantee. It is also included in Full Academy Access, which costs EUR 1,625 a year or from EUR 165 a month with a 12-month minimum.

Is there a free alternative to AIHR?

There is no free course with the same depth and credits. For a free first step, the 60-minute AI Course for HR by Johannes Sundlo has HR participants practise on real tasks and gives a certificate of completion, without SHRM or HRCI credits. AIHR also offers free articles, webinars and templates.

AIHR vs Coursera for HR: which should I choose?

Choose AIHR if you need SHRM or HRCI recertification credits and an HR-specific capstone. Choose Coursera, for example IBM’s Generative AI for HR Professionals or Wharton’s AI Applications in People Management, if you want structured learning at a subscription price and do not need HR credits; those courses list no SHRM or HRCI credits.

Related: AI courses for HR professionals compared · Free AI courses for HR · Which AI is best for HR?