The short answer
Choose an AI course for HR by the work you want to do, the time you have and whether you need formal recertification credits. My free 60-minute course is a short practical starting point. Longer provider programmes add depth, assessment or live teaching; check the current price and credit conditions before paying.
Read the full guide- Start practising A short course plus a real task.
- Need a credential? Check credits, assessment and who recognises it.
- Compare the full cost Access period, certificate and protected learning time.
One of these courses is mine. Listed third-party prices and course details come from the original September 2026 comparison and may change. Confirm the current total and credits on the linked provider page.
AI courses for HR professionals compared
| Course | Format | Time | Price | SHRM / HRCI credits | Certificate | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free AI Course for HR Learn AI and HR (Johannes Sundlo) | Self-paced, hands-on | 60 min | Free | None | Free, included | Fast practical start on real HR tasks |
| Artificial Intelligence for HR AIHR | Self-paced, capstone | 32.5 h | EUR 975 (Academy access EUR 1,299/yr) | 28 SHRM, 28 HRCI | Digital certificate | Employer-funded, recognised HR credential |
| AI+HI Specialty Credential SHRM | Blended: live, self-paced, capstone | Not stated | About USD 1,300 to 1,900 by membership | 30 PDCs | Specialty credential badge | SHRM members who need PDCs |
| HRCI Pro: AI for HR HRCI | Self-paced bundle of 3 courses | 12 h | USD 399 | 12 HRCI and SHRM | Digital badge | Budget credential from a certifying body |
| Introduction to AI for Human Resources CIPD | Live online, 2 days | 2 days | GBP 1,035 ex VAT (members 15% off) | Not stated | Certificate of completion | UK and EU HR, facilitator-led |
| AI for HR Professionals UT Austin McCombs | On-demand + weekly live | 5 weeks, 30 to 40 h | USD 2,300 list, USD 1,750 promo | Not stated | Certificate of completion | University depth, builds custom GPTs |
| Generative AI for HR Professionals IBM on Coursera | Self-paced, 3 courses, labs | About 4 weeks at 10 h | Preview/trial may be available; check provider, certificate via subscription | None | Specialization certificate | Deep foundation at low cost |
| AI for HR Specialization AI Business School on Coursera | Self-paced, 3 courses | About 21 h | Preview/trial may be available; check provider, certificate via subscription | None | Specialization certificate | Awareness to building no-code AI |
| AI in Human Resource Management Alison | Self-paced | About 3 h | Free, paid certificate | None | Alison certificate (paid) | Theory overview, free study |
| AI for Human Resources DataCamp | Self-paced, exercises | 3 h | First chapter free, then subscription | None | Statement of accomplishment | Copilot-based practice for beginners |
| Generative AI in HR LinkedIn Learning | Self-paced video | 46 min | Included in LinkedIn Premium | Varies by course | Certificate of completion | Quick overview for generalists |
| AI in HR Josh Bersin Academy (Galileo Learn) | Cohort-style social learning | About 3 to 5 h over 5 weeks | Academy membership, about USD 495/yr | Not stated | Certificate | Research-led, for HR leaders |
| AI in HR Starter Course BambooHR | Self-paced | 60 min | Free | None | Not stated | Risk-focused primer for HR leaders |
| Google AI Essentials Google on Coursera | Self-paced | About 10 h | Free trial, then paid subscription; local price varies | None | Google certificate | General AI literacy for a whole team |
Third-party prices and credit details are from the original September 2026 comparison. Check the linked provider page for current terms, total cost and accreditation before enrolling.
What is the best AI course for HR professionals in 2026?
What is the best AI course for HR professionals in 2026? It depends on whether you need recertification credits, how many hours you have, and who pays. For a first hands-on hour, the free 60-minute AI Course for HR by Johannes Sundlo (Learn AI and HR) is the fastest start, with the certificate included. For a credential that HR departments recognise, AIHR’s Artificial Intelligence for HR program (32.5 hours, EUR 975, 28 SHRM and HRCI credits) is the most complete. SHRM’s AI+HI Specialty Credential (30 PDCs) is the natural pick for SHRM members. HRCI Pro: AI for HR is the budget credential at USD 399 for 12 hours and 12 credits. For university depth, UT Austin’s five-week AI for HR Professionals costs USD 1,750 to 2,300. Coursera’s IBM specialization is free to audit if the certificate is optional. Below, all 14 are compared on format, hours, price, certificate and credits, with prices as listed on the provider pages in September 2026.
Which AI courses for HR carry recertification credits?
Which AI courses for HR carry recertification credits? Three of the fourteen programs in this comparison state SHRM or HRCI credits on their own pages. AIHR’s Artificial Intelligence for HR program gives 28 SHRM PDCs and 28 HRCI general credits for 32.5 hours of self-paced study. SHRM’s AI+HI Specialty Credential gives 30 PDCs, earned through live instructor-led training, five self-paced modules and a capstone. HRCI Pro: AI for HR gives 12 credits accepted by both HRCI and SHRM for a 12-hour bundle at USD 399. The university and platform courses (UT Austin, Coursera, DataCamp, LinkedIn Learning, Alison) issue certificates of completion without stated credits, and some LinkedIn Learning courses carry PDCs on a course-by-course basis. If recertification is the reason you are taking the course, start from these three. Check the credit statement on the provider page before you pay, since programs change their accreditation between cohorts.
How to choose an AI course for HR: five questions
- Do you need recertification credits? If yes, the list is three long: AIHR, SHRM AI+HI, HRCI Pro. If no, skip the credential premium and pick on content.
- How many hours do you have this month? One hour gets you working basics. Ten to twenty hours gets a foundation. Thirty hours or more is a program, and only worth it with protected time.
- Who pays? Employer-funded: AIHR, SHRM, CIPD or UT Austin. Your own card: the free options first, then HRCI Pro if you want a badge.
- HR-specific or general AI literacy? A whole team with mixed roles does well on Google AI Essentials. HR teams get further faster on courses built around HR tasks: job ads, screening, survey analysis, policy.
- Hands-on or theory? Look for prompts you run on your own material during the course. Video-only courses (LinkedIn Learning, parts of Alison) explain AI. The ones with labs and templates change how you work.
Free versus paid AI courses for HR: what the money buys
Common questions
Which AI course for HR is best for beginners?
A short, hands-on course that runs on a tool you already have. The free 60-minute AI Course for HR at Learn AI and HR and BambooHR’s free AI in HR Starter Course both fit. If you want a university brand on the certificate and have 30 hours, UT Austin’s AI for HR Professionals is built for practitioners and starts new cohorts monthly.
Is the AIHR AI for HR certificate worth it?
For HR professionals whose employer pays, or who need 28 recertification credits, yes. It is a structured self-paced programme: 32.5 hours, five courses, a capstone, and hands-on work in ChatGPT and Claude. For someone who wants to start using AI this week, it is more than needed; a free one-hour course gets you there and AIHR can come later.
Do I need a certificate to work with AI in HR?
No. A certificate can document learning or meet an employer’s requirements, but it does not replace practical capability. If recertification credits are the goal, verify the provider’s current credit statement. Otherwise, choose by useful skills and the time you can commit.
What is the difference between the SHRM AI+HI credential and HRCI Pro: AI for HR?
SHRM AI+HI is a blended program with live instructor-led sessions, self-paced modules and a capstone, worth 30 PDCs, priced in the USD 1,300 to 1,900 range depending on membership. HRCI Pro: AI for HR is a 12-hour self-paced bundle of three eLearning courses for USD 399, worth 12 credits accepted by both bodies. Pick SHRM for depth and live cohort work, HRCI Pro for speed and price.
Put one hour into practice
Practical AI for HR, at your own pace. Free, with a certificate of completion.